Webinar

Coastal Guardian Watchmen Shared Compliance and Enforcement Pilot Project

In 2022 a first of its kind agreement was reached between the Province of B.C. and Kitasoo Xai’xais and Nuxalk Nations which recognized Coastal Guardian Watchmen with Park Ranger authorities within the parks and protected areas in their ancestral territories. On February 15th 2024 Ernest (Ernie) Tallio, manager of the Nuxalk Guardian program and Steve Hodgson, BC Parks Regional Section Head, joined the TST to share their experience with and reflections on the groundbreaking pilot program that recognizes thousands of years of stewardship authority.

About this event

Date
February 15, 2:00pm AST/ 1:00pm EST/ 12:00pm CST/ 11:00am MT/10:00am PST